I received a phishing email with a trojan claiming to be from MSN, concerned about the spreading of such trojan I reported to abuse@microsoft.com. I nearly fall out of my chair when I received the below:
Hello,
Thank you for contacting Microsoft Customer Service.
I understand that you have received an e-mail form MSN Feature.
I would like you to know that MSN feature offer is, in fact, a free subscription for newsletter, advertisement, and many other newsletters. You can subscribe to it to your field of interest like sports, medicine, celebrities, and the list goes on.
Some content in MSN newsletters and offers may relate to products and services provided by third parties. This allows you to receive content about different third party offerings without having to provide your e-mail address to each of these companies.
You may visit the following for more information on MSN Feature offer: http://newsletters.msn.com/Subscribe.aspx
However, if you would like to unsubscribe to this feature, please click on the “unsubscribe” button at the bottom of the email you received. After clicking on the “unsubscribe” button you will received a contact details, please request them to remove your email address from their database.
Please note that if “unsubscribe” button is not present, we cannot guarantee that it is a valid MSN Newsletters.
Please let me know if there is anything else I can do for you relating to this case.
Thank you,
Edited by Author
Free Update Windows XP,Vista
About this mailing:
You are receiving this e-mail because you subscribed to MSN Featured Offers. Microsoft respects your privacy. If you do not wish to receive this MSN Featured Offers e-mail, please click the “Unsubscribe” link below. This will not unsubscribe you from e-mail communications from third-party advertisers that may appear in MSN Feature Offers. This shall not constitute an offer by MSN. MSN shall not be responsible or liable for the advertisers’ content nor any of the goods or service advertised. Prices and item availability subject to change without notice.
©2008 Microsoft | Unsubscribe | More Newsletters | Privacy
Microsoft Corporation, One Microsoft Way, Redmond, WA 98052
The rep obviously did not bother to even check the authenticity. This is a big joke compared to how spoof@ebay.com and spoof@paypal.com had been doing their work.
Filed under: MSN Phishing Emails and Blunder Reply | Tagged: MSN Phishing Emails and Blunder Reply